As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Dash cams with parking mode: plan the power before buying
Parking mode needs power after the engine stops
Budget for the camera, compatible power equipment and memory card together. A dash cam connected to a socket that switches off with the car cannot keep recording after that power is gone. Also decide whether you need a recording to review later or a live view while you are away; those are different features.
Front-and-rear recording: VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH
The A229 Pro 2CH records a 4K front view and 2K rear view and offers buffered event detection, time-lapse and low-bitrate parking recording. VIOFO lists the compatible HK4 hardwire kit separately. Confirm the exact package and current power-kit/firmware guidance before purchase. This is the regular front-and-rear 2CH package, not the 3CH interior-camera or Tele version.
Read the A229 Pro 2CH guide · Check A229 Pro 2CH on Amazon
Choose what you want to record while parked
- Event detection: saves clips around detected events. A buffered mode includes footage from before detection, but detection is not a promise to capture every incident.
- Time-lapse: records at intervals. VIOFO's described time-lapse mode has no audio; it is not equivalent to normal-speed video.
- Low bitrate: records continuously in smaller files. It still needs power and storage.
A battery cutoff is a limit, not unlimited parking coverage
A compatible hardwire kit can stop recording when its voltage threshold is reached. That protects a reserve; it does not guarantee the same recording hours in every vehicle. Battery condition, driving time, temperature and camera settings affect the result. Have an installer confirm the correct circuit, fuse protection, cutoff and cable routing for your vehicle, including keeping wiring clear of airbags.
Do not treat the camera's supercapacitor as a battery that runs it all night. If you need longer coverage without drawing from the starter battery, investigate a compatible purpose-built dash-cam battery system and its installation requirements.
Wi-Fi does not automatically mean remote viewing
Before paying for a cloud or LTE feature, confirm what works away from the car, whether a data plan or subscription is needed, and which power accessories remain necessary. For local recordings, check the recommended endurance card and practice finding and saving an important clip before relying on the system.
Based on documented features, not a plate-reading or battery-runtime test. Sources checked September 27, 2026: A229 Pro 2CH specifications (viofo.com), VIOFO parking-mode guide (viofo.com), recording cutoff (support.viofo.com), external power requirements (support.viofo.com). Amazon links are affiliate links.
Compare every model in this category
Each row says who the model suits, its main strength and its main catch, taken from each guide's listed sources. Open a guide to confirm the exact model and what's included before you buy on Amazon.
| Product | Best for | Main strength | Main caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| REDTIGER F7NP 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam | A two-channel 4K setup on a suction mount, with a hardwire kit bought for parking | Front and rear channels plus GPS logging | Manual caps the card at 256GB while the maker's table says 512GB, with no explanation |
| VIOFO A229 Plus 2CH Front and Rear Dash Cam | Two-channel 2K recording when you will also buy a card and a hardwire kit | Front and rear use the same 5 MP STARVIS 2 sensor per VIOFO's table | No memory card included, and parking mode needs an HK4 hardwire kit bought separately |
| REDTIGER F17 4K 3-Channel Dash Cam | Drivers who want road, cabin and rear views on one card | Cabin camera with four infrared lights is built into the front unit | Parking monitor needs a hardwire kit that is not included in the Amazon package |
| ROVE R2-4K DUAL Front and Rear Dash Cam | Buyers who want a card in the box and will add a hardwire kit for parking | A 128GB card is in the box and the camera accepts cards up to 1TB | Front 4K is upscaled from native 2.5K, which ROVE states on its own page |
| REDTIGER F7N Touch 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam | Drivers who want touch and voice control on a two-camera setup | Touch screen plus voice commands | Parking mode needs a hardwire kit not in the Amazon box |
| VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH 4K Front and 2K Rear Dash Cam | Drivers who will add a hardwire kit and card for buffered parking recording | Buffered event recording and three parking modes | No memory card included; you must buy a microSD card |
| REDTIGER F17 Elite 3-Channel 4K Dash Cam | Drivers who want road, rear and cabin video from one kit | Covers road, rear and cabin, with a cabin recording switch | Parking mode and NiteGuard need a hardwire kit not in the Amazon box |
| PRUVEEO D90-4CH-128GB Four-Camera Dash Cam | Drivers wanting front, cabin-side and rear 1080P views on one card | Four 1080P views including adjustable cabin-facing lenses | Parking mode needs a separately sold ACC hardwire kit |
| Garmin Dash Cam Live (010-02619-00) | Owners who want remote live view and alerts through an LTE plan | Remote live view and alerts away from Wi-Fi with an LTE plan | Key remote features depend on an ongoing LTE subscription |
| Garmin Dash Cam X310 (010-02860-00) | Drivers wanting a compact 4K camera with a screen and driver alerts | Parking Guard can use the built-in battery without extra wiring | Remote viewing, cloud storage and parking alerts need a paid Vault plan |
| Garmin Dash Cam Mini 3 (010-02899-00) | Drivers wanting a very small 1080p camera run from a phone app | Very small, with voice commands to save clips | Remote viewing, cloud storage and parking alerts need a paid Vault plan |
| Garmin Dash Cam X210 (010-02859-00) | Drivers wanting a compact 1440p camera with a screen and alerts | Parking Guard can use the built-in battery without extra wiring | Top resolution is 1440p, though one listing bullet says 4K |
| BlackVue DR590X-2CH Plus Front and Rear Dash Cam | Drivers wanting hardwired 1080p front and rear recording | Hardwiring cable included for ignition-triggered parking mode | GPS needs an optional external module despite the listing title |
| ROVE R2-4K DUAL PRO Front and Rear Dash Cam | Drivers wanting 4K front and 1440P rear with card and CPL included | Card, CPL filter, suction and sticky mounts all in the box | Parking mode needs a hardwire kit sold separately |
| BlackVue DR770X-2CH II Front and Rear Dash Cam | Drivers planning a hardwired two-camera install run from an app | Box includes USB-C and hardwiring power options per BlackVue | Parking mode needs the hardwiring cable or a separate battery pack |
| Vantrue N4S (RC18) Three-Channel Dash Cam | Drivers wanting front, cabin and rear views with a rear camera mounted indoors | Three views with four infrared lights for the cabin | RC18 rear camera is not waterproof, unlike the RC09 the product page shows |
| Vantrue N4 Pro S (RC18) 4K Three-Channel Dash Cam | Drivers wanting 4K front plus cabin and indoor rear recording | 4K road camera with cabin infrared and a rotating rear camera | RC18 rear camera is not waterproof despite IP67 claims on the product page |
| BlackVue DR970X-2CH LTE Plus II 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam | Drivers in the US or Canada who want LTE built into the camera | Built-in 4G LTE module that takes a nano SIM | Needs your own nano SIM and a North American carrier |
| VIOFO A119 Mini 2 Front Dash Cam, STARVIS 2 Sensor, 2K 60fps | A compact front-only dash cam with 5GHz Wi-Fi, GPS and voice control | Built-in GPS, 5GHz Wi-Fi and voice control in a compact body | 60fps and HDR cannot run together; the manual's default is 30fps |
What to check before buying
The dash cam guides here check what parking mode actually needs, whether a memory card is in the box, and the card ceiling each document gives. They also compare resolution and frame-rate claims with the manual's recording modes, note the operating heat limit, and list which remote features depend on a paid plan or an add-on.
- What parking mode needs. Several guides here report that parking recording works only with a hardwire kit or constant-power cable sold separately. One maker says parking is not supported on USB-C power, while some Garmin models can run Parking Guard on the camera's battery.
- Card included and ceiling. Check whether a card ships and how large a card is supported. Guides report no card in the box, a 16GB card, and card ceilings that differ between manual, maker table and listing, such as 256GB against 512GB.
- Resolution as recorded. Headline resolution may not match the recording modes. Guides report a 4K front upscaled from native 2.5K, a 1440p camera with one listing bullet saying 4K, a 60fps claim against 30fps settings, and HDR unavailable at 60fps.
- Operating heat limit. Operating limits range from 131°F to 176°F across the guides, and one guide finds three different temperature figures from listing, maker table and manual. Another notes the maker publishes no operating range at all.
- Paid plans and add-ons. Some remote features cost extra. Guides report live view and cloud storage tied to a paid plan or LTE subscription, a camera that needs your own nano SIM, and GPS offered only as an optional external module.
This page collects 19 dash cam guides from Plain Buy Guides. Each guide covers one exact Amazon listing: the maker's published specifications, what the listing says is included, the fit and installation limits that decide whether it suits you, and the main caveat, with every source listed and dated. Nothing here is based on hands-on testing, and no guide promises a price or stock level.
In the table above, the Best for column says who each model suits, and the strength and caveat columns carry the first point each guide makes. Open a guide before buying to confirm the exact model, the included parts and any conflict between the listing and the maker's documents, which each guide reports rather than settles. Side-by-side pages put the published facts of two models from this category in one place.
Compare the published specs
The main figures stated in each dash cam guide on this page, side by side, with each guide's sources behind them. Units are as published; nothing here was measured by us.
A table scrolls sideways when it is wider than the screen. Select a column heading to sort.
— means the guide does not state that figure. † means the guide reports that another source gives a different figure, or doubts the figure; open the guide. A figure in another unit is shown as the guide gives it and is not sorted or counted. Only single figures in the column’s unit, with no mark, word or note in brackets, are sorted and counted below.
By the numbers
These cover only the 19 dash cams on this site, not the whole market. Ranges use the figures the guides state; the lowest and highest link to their guides, and the median is the middle of those figures. A model whose figure is missing, not applicable, more than one, marked, in words, in another unit or qualified in brackets is left out of that line.
- Cameras across our 19 dash cams: 2 cameras: 9; 3 cameras: 4; 4 cameras: 1; not stated, not applicable or more than one: 5.
- Front field of view across the 15 of our 19 dash cams that state one figure: 139° to 170°, median 146°. Lowest: BlackVue DR770X-2CH II Front and Rear Dash Cam. Highest: REDTIGER F7NP 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam and 1 other.
- Top operating temperature across the 16 of our 19 dash cams that state one figure: 131°F to 176°F, median 154°F. Lowest: ROVE R2-4K DUAL PRO Front and Rear Dash Cam. Highest: BlackVue DR770X-2CH II Front and Rear Dash Cam.
Read the full Dash Cam Basics buying guide (dash-cam-basics.pages.dev).
- REDTIGER F7NP 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam
REDTIGER F7NP guide: 4K front with 1080p rear, three different card-size limits across the sources, hardwire kit needed for parking, and an 18-month warranty.
- VIOFO A229 Plus 2CH Front and Rear Dash Cam
VIOFO A229 Plus 2CH guide: 2K front and rear, no microSD in the box, HK4 hardwire kit sold separately for parking mode, and the maker's heat limits.
- REDTIGER F17 4K 3-Channel Dash Cam
REDTIGER F17 3-channel guide: 4K front with 1080p cabin and rear, a 64GB card the manual's box page omits, a 512GB ceiling, a hardwire kit for parking and warranty.
- ROVE R2-4K DUAL Front and Rear Dash Cam
ROVE R2-4K DUAL guide: native 2.5K front video output as upscaled 4K, a 128GB card in the box, a hardwire kit for parking and no published temperature range.
- REDTIGER F7N Touch 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam
REDTIGER F7N Touch guide: 4K front and 1080P rear, touch and voice control, card limits that differ by source, a separate hardwire kit for parking, and warranty.
- VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH 4K Front and 2K Rear Dash Cam
VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH guide: 4K front and 2K rear, no card in the box, parking mode only with a hardwire kit, three temperature figures, and the 18-month warranty.
- REDTIGER F17 Elite 3-Channel 4K Dash Cam
REDTIGER F17 Elite guide: 4K front, 2.5K rear and 1080P cabin, a cabin-recording switch, what the manual's box list omits, hardwire-only parking and warranty terms.
- PRUVEEO D90-4CH-128GB Four-Camera Dash Cam
PRUVEEO D90-4CH-128GB guide: four 1080P cameras, the 256GB card ceiling, why parking mode needs an ACC hardwire kit, 15-150°F rating and the missing warranty terms.
- Garmin Dash Cam Live (010-02619-00)
Garmin Dash Cam Live (010-02619-00) specs: 1440p at 30fps, 140 degrees, 16GB card included, 8-512GB cards, LTE plan, Vault storage, manual link.
- Garmin Dash Cam X310 (010-02860-00)
Garmin Dash Cam X310 guide: 4K touchscreen camera, exFAT card bought separately, battery-run Parking Guard, driver alerts, paid Vault features and heat limits.
- Garmin Dash Cam Mini 3 (010-02899-00)
Garmin Dash Cam Mini 3 guide: ultra-compact 1080p camera, no card in the box, what the paid Vault unlocks, parking power accessories and a 140°F operating limit.
- Garmin Dash Cam X210 (010-02859-00)
Garmin Dash Cam X210 guide: 1440p not 4K despite one listing bullet, exFAT card bought separately, battery-run Parking Guard, driver alerts, paid Vault features.
- BlackVue DR590X-2CH Plus Front and Rear Dash Cam
BlackVue DR590X-2CH Plus guide: 1080p30 front and rear, hardwiring cable in the box, GPS listed by BlackVue as an optional external module, 512GB cards, heat.
- ROVE R2-4K DUAL PRO Front and Rear Dash Cam
ROVE R2-4K DUAL PRO guide: 4K front and 1440P rear, what the included card and CPL do, the hardwire kit parking needs, 14-131°F operating range and warranty.
- BlackVue DR770X-2CH II Front and Rear Dash Cam
BlackVue DR770X-2CH II guide: 1080p60 front and 1080p30 rear, which power options support parking, the hardwiring cable in the box, Wi-Fi and a 176°F cut-off.
- Vantrue N4S (RC18) Three-Channel Dash Cam
Vantrue N4S RC18 guide: 1944P front with 1440P cabin and rear, a non-waterproof rear camera, no card in the box, parking power needs, 140°F limit, warranty.
- Vantrue N4 Pro S (RC18) 4K Three-Channel Dash Cam
Vantrue N4 Pro S RC18 guide: 4K front, 1080P cabin, 1440P rear, a non-waterproof rear camera, no card in the box, parking power, 140°F limit, warranty.
- BlackVue DR970X-2CH LTE Plus II 4K Front and Rear Dash Cam
BlackVue DR970X-2CH LTE Plus II guide: built-in LTE needing your own nano SIM, 4K front and 1080p rear, the 512GB vs 1TB card conflict, parking power and heat.
- VIOFO A119 Mini 2 Front Dash Cam, STARVIS 2 Sensor, 2K 60fps
VIOFO A119 Mini 2 guide: 2K 60fps versus HDR 30fps, the hardwire kit parking mode needs, 5GHz Wi-Fi, voice control, microSD limits and the 18-month warranty.