Plain Buy Guides

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Generator buying guide: choose by outlet and running watts

Need a generator with a 50-amp outlet?

Check running watts before the socket. A 120/240V 14-50R receptacle does not mean a generator delivers 50 amps continuously. At 240V, 50A requires 12,000 running watts. A model advertised as “13,000 watts” may use its brief starting rating in that name.

Here are two of the 14-50R models covered in our guides. Both fall below 50A continuous output at 240V. Choose only after matching your essential loads and their starting demand.

For remote start: Westinghouse WGen9500DF

Westinghouse lists 9,500 running watts on gasoline and 8,500 on propane, plus a remote-start fob. The gasoline rating works out to about 39.6A at 240V. Its spec table says no CO sensor; it is also a heavy, open-frame option. Do not confuse the WGen9500DF with a similarly named model ending in “c.”

Read the WGen9500DF fit and limits

For more running power and CO shutoff: DuroMax XP13000HX

DuroMax lists 10,500 running watts on gasoline, or 43.75A at 240V, plus CO Alert. Its product page lists 10,000 running watts on propane. It has push-button start but no remote start. The maker currently lists it as not CARB certified, so check sale and use restrictions for your location.

Read the XP13000HX fit and limits · Check XP13000HX on Amazon

Before choosing either

Selection is based on published features, not hands-on testing. Sources checked September 27, 2026: Westinghouse specifications (westinghouse.com), DuroMax specifications (duromaxpower.com), CDC generator placement (cdc.gov), CPSC connection safety (cpsc.gov). Amazon links are affiliate links.

Inverter generator vs regular generator: what the makers say differs

Both types burn fuel in an engine that spins an alternator. An inverter generator then converts that power from AC to DC and back to AC before it reaches the panel; a regular generator feeds it more or less straight to the panel. That is how WEN explains the difference, and Champion describes the same two-step conversion. In the makers' figures below, each inverter lists 3 percent THD or less and can be linked to a second unit, while the conventional models go up to 11,500 running watts on gasoline; the largest inverter listed gives 4,000.

Champion also calls an inverter generator a “power inverter generator.” A standalone “power inverter” is a different device: it has no engine and draws on a battery, such as a vehicle's 12V battery in Cobra's description of its own inverters.

Power quality for sensitive electronics

Makers state power quality as total harmonic distortion (THD); lower is cleaner. Each inverter maker in the table below lists 3 percent or less, and WEN gives the DF480iX as under 0.3 percent at no load and under 1.2 percent at full load. The conventional models vary: Westinghouse lists 5 percent or less for the WGen11500TFc and 23 percent or less for the WGen5300c, while Champion and WEN give no THD figure for the 201438 and DF475T. Champion's manuals for both the 201050 inverter and the 201438 still advise UL 1449 plug-in surge suppressors on outlets that feed sensitive equipment.

Noise and engine speed

Champion gives both of its figures from 23 feet: 64 dB(A) for the 201050 inverter and 74 dB(A) for the 201438, with no load stated. Westinghouse's “as low as” figures and WEN's 62 dB at quarter load for the DF480iX give no distance, so they do not line up with Champion's. Champion says traditional generators run at a constant 3,600 RPM while inverters adjust engine speed to the load; its spec tables list the 201438 at 3600 and the 201050 as Variable.

Champion says to switch Eco Mode off for high loads, and Generac says its economy switch gives more starting watts when off.

Same engine size, two designs: WEN DF480iX and DF475T

WEN's manuals list a 224cc engine for both. For the DF480iX inverter they give 4,000 running watts on gasoline, 78.5 lb and 7 hours at half load from a 1.9-gallon tank; for the DF475T, 3,800 running watts, 105.8 lb and 11 hours at half load from a 4-gallon tank. The DF475T has 120V/240V output with an L14-30R twist-lock outlet; the DF480iX's AC output is 120V. Being an inverter does not decide the voltage, though: WEN's manual for the DF680iX inverter lists 120V/240V.

Linking two units

Champion, WEN, Westinghouse and Generac each say the inverter in the table can be linked to a compatible unit of the same brand for more power, using a parallel kit or cord that is not included. None of the four conventional models' spec tables or manuals that we read describes parallel operation.

Four inverter and four conventional generators from this page, as each maker publishes them. “Not stated” means the maker gives no figure in the pages and manuals we read.
ModelTypeRunning / starting watts, gasolineNoise, as publishedTHD, as publishedParallel kit
Champion 201050Inverter3,000 / 4,00064 dB(A) from 23 ftUnder 3%Yes, sold separately
WEN DF480iXInverter4,000 / 4,80062 dB at quarter load; distance not statedUnder 0.3% at no load; under 1.2% at full loadYes, sold separately
Westinghouse iGen5000DFInverter3,900 / 5,000 (peak)As low as 52 dBA; distance not stated3% or lessYes; parallel cord not included
Generac iQ5200DFInverter3,900 / 5,200Not statedUnder 3%Yes, kit 7668 sold separately
Champion 201438Conventional10,000 / 12,50074 dB(A) from 23 ftNot statedNot listed
WEN DF475TConventional3,800 / 4,750Not statedNot statedNot listed
Westinghouse WGen5300cConventional5,300 / 6,600 (peak)As low as 68 dBA; distance not stated23% or lessNot listed
Westinghouse WGen11500TFcConventional11,500 / 14,500 (peak)As low as 74 dBA; distance not stated5% or lessNot listed

An inverter still has an engine. Every manual behind this table warns about carbon monoxide and says to use the generator outside only. Read the carbon monoxide and placement sections in your model's manual before first use, whether or not it has a CO shutoff: Champion 201050 (championpowerequipment.com), WEN DF480iX (cdn.shopify.com), Westinghouse iGen5000DF (cdn.westinghouseoutdoorpower.com), Generac iQ5200DF (generac.com), Champion 201438 (championpowerequipment.com), WEN DF475T (cdn.shopify.com), Westinghouse WGen5300c (cdn.westinghouseoutdoorpower.com), Westinghouse WGen11500TFc (cdn.westinghouseoutdoorpower.com).

Figures are as each maker publishes them; nothing here was measured by us. Sources checked September 29, 2026: maker pages for the 201050 (championpowerequipment.com), DF480iX (wenproducts.com), iGen5000DF (westinghouse.com), 201438 (championpowerequipment.com), DF475T (wenproducts.com), WGen5300c (westinghouse.com) and WGen11500TFc (westinghouse.com); Generac's iQ5200DF spec sheet (generac.com); the DF680iX manual (cdn.shopify.com); WEN (wenproducts.com) and Champion (championpowerequipment.com) on how inverter generators work; Cobra on power inverters (support.cobra.com).

Compare every model in this category

Each row says who the model suits, its main strength and its main catch, taken from each guide's listed sources. Open a guide to confirm the exact model and what's included before you buy on Amazon.

Every product guide in this category, with the strength and caveat each guide names first.
ProductBest forMain strengthMain caveat
Westinghouse iGen5000DF Dual Fuel InverterBuyers who need a TT-30R RV outlet and 120 volt power on gasoline or propaneTT-30R RV outlet built inNo carbon monoxide sensor, per Westinghouse's specifications
Westinghouse WGen9500DF Dual Fuel GeneratorBuyers who need 120/240 volt power from a 30 amp twist-lock or 14-50R outlet on gas or propaneSeparate running ratings for gasoline and propane in the manual210 to 211 lb, and the manual says the wheels are for hand moving only
Westinghouse WGen5300DFcv Dual Fuel GeneratorDual-fuel backup with an L14-30R and a TT-30R outletRuns on gasoline or propane and, per Westinghouse, switches fuels without shutting offWestinghouse's spec table says no CO sensor while its manual and page title describe one
Champion 201050 4000-Watt Dual Fuel InverterBuyers who need a TT-30R RV outlet and CO Shield on a dual fuel inverterCO Shield shutoff built inRecoil start only; no electric or remote start is named
WEN 56235i Portable Inverter GeneratorSmall portable loads within 1,900 rated wattsFuel Off switch position burns off carburetor fuel before shutdown, per WENListing's 10-hour runtime has no load condition; WEN gives 5.7 hours at half load
DuroMax XP13000EH 13,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable GeneratorBuyers who want 14-50R and L14-30R outlets on a dual fuel generatorBoth a 14-50R 50-amp and an L14-30R 240V receptacleMaker's spec table says not CARB certified or 50-state compliant
WEN DF475T 4,750-Watt Dual Fuel Portable GeneratorBuyers who need a 120/240V L14-30R on a dual fuel generatorL14-30R 240V outlet with a voltage selectorNo CO shutdown sensor mentioned in the maker sources we read
DuroMax XP13000HX 13,000-Watt Dual Fuel Generator with CO AlertBuyers who want four GFCI 5-20R outlets plus 14-50R and L14-30RFour GFCI 120V outlets plus 14-50R and L14-30R receptaclesMaker's spec table says not CARB certified or 50-state compliant
DuroMax XP5500HX 5,500-Watt Dual Fuel Generator with CO AlertBuyers who want an L14-30R and a 120V Power Boost mode on dual fuelPower Boost selector for heavy 120V loads from the L14-30RNo TT-30R receptacle listed, although DuroMax calls it RV ready
Generac Guardian 7225 14kW Home Standby Generator with 200A Transfer SwitchHomes that want a 200 A switch with air conditioner load managementFull 14 kW rating on natural gas as well as propaneBattery not included; only qualified personnel may install it
Westinghouse WGen5300c Gas Portable Generator with CO SensorBuyers who want TT-30R and L14-30R outlets on a gasoline generatorTT-30R and transfer-switch-ready L14-30R on one panelMaker's THD figure is 23 percent or less
A-iPower SUA7600iED 7600W Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want L14-30R and L5-30R outlets on a dual fuel inverterL14-30R 120/240V and L5-30R receptacles plus a 5-20R duplexMaker documents disagree on parallel cables and mention outlets not on the panel
Westinghouse WGen11500TFc 14,500-Watt Tri-Fuel Portable GeneratorBuyers who want gasoline, propane and natural gas on one generatorRuns on three fuels with watts listed for eachNot CARB compliant according to Westinghouse's own table
Champion 201319 4500-Watt Electric Start Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want a TT-30R outlet and electric start on a dual fuel inverterTT-30R RV outlet and electric start on a dual-fuel inverterManual gives 103.6 lb; Champion's page and Amazon say 99.2 lb
Westinghouse iGen4000DFcv 4000-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want a TT-30R outlet and included parallel cablesParallel cables and propane hose included in the boxNot CARB compliant according to Westinghouse's own table
Westinghouse iGen12000DFc Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want 14-50R and L14-30R outlets on a dual fuel inverter14-50R and L14-30R outlets with 3% or lower THDMaker page copy describes the tri fuel model, unlike its spec table
DuroStar DS13000MX 13,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable GeneratorBuyers who want 14-50R and L14-30R outlets with remote start14-50R and L14-30R outlets with watts listed for both fuelsNot sold in California according to DuroStar's table
WEN DF480iX 4800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want a TT-30R outlet and electric start on a dual fuel inverterTT-30R RV outlet plus two 5-20R duplexes on a 78.5-pound inverterAmazon's propane watts and run time exceed the manual's figures
WEN DF280iX 2800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorSmall 120V loads within 2,000 to 2,250 running wattsSeparate gasoline and propane ratings and a CO Watchdog shutdownOnly one 5-20R duplex; AC output rated 120V
Champion 201438 12,500-Watt Electric Start Tri-Fuel Portable GeneratorBuyers who want gasoline, propane and natural gas with a 14-50R and L14-30RRuns on gasoline, propane or natural gas with hoses included14-50R outlet rated at 42 amps in the manual
Generac iQ5200DF Dual Fuel Inverter Generator, 49-State (G0089450)Buyers who want the 49-state iQ5200DF with an L5-30R outletMaker publishes watts per fuel, run time at stated loads and THD under 3%49-state variant; the 50-state version is a different part number
WEN DF680iX 6800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who need a TT-30R and a 240V L14-30R outlet on one inverterBoth a TT-30R RV outlet and a 240V-capable L14-30R on one inverterSelector switch changes which outlets are live at 120V versus 240V
DuroStar DS13000MXT 13,000-Watt Tri Fuel Portable GeneratorBuyers who want natural gas, propane and gasoline with a 14-50RPublished ratings for all three fuels and natural gas requirementsMaker's table says not for sale to California and marks EPA certified no
Westinghouse iGen12000TFc 12000-Watt Tri-Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want gasoline, propane and natural gas on an inverter with a 14-50RRuns on gasoline, propane or natural gas with watts listed for eachPropane run time: 9 h on a 20 lb tank at 25% load
Westinghouse iGen8200TFc Tri Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want a 14-50R and a TT-30R on a tri fuel inverterRuns on gasoline, propane or natural gas with published ratings for eachNatural gas hose and adapter must be bought separately
Generac 14kW Air-Cooled Home Standby Generator, Model 7258Permanent automatic backup on natural gas or propane, professionally installedRuns on natural gas or vapor propane; listing describes automatic backupTransfer switch and battery are not included in this listing
Generac 22kW Home Standby Generator, Model 7260 (No Transfer Switch)Buyers adding a 22 kW standby unit with a separately sourced transfer switchRated 22 kW on propane and 21 kW on natural gasNo transfer switch in this listing; one must be bought and installed
Generac 22kW Home Standby Generator, Model 7325 with 200A Transfer SwitchBuyers who want the 22 kW standby unit and a 200 A switch in one purchase200-amp service-rated transfer switch included in this bundleBattery not included, and Generac gives two battery specs
Generac 24kW Air-Cooled Home Standby Generator, Model 7261 (No Transfer Switch)Buyers who want the 24 kW standby unit without a bundled switchRated 24 kW on propane and 22.5 kW on natural gasNo transfer switch among this listing's included components
Generac 26kW Air-Cooled Home Standby Generator, Model 7328 with 200A Transfer SwitchBuyers who want the 26 kW standby unit and a 200 A switch in one purchase200-amp service-rated transfer switch included in this bundleBattery not included, and Generac lists two battery specs
Westinghouse iGen2800DFc Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want a TT-30R outlet on a small dual fuel inverterTT-30R RV outlet on a generator of about 45 poundsMaker's own pages disagree on running watts and runtime
Generac GP9500E Tri Fuel Portable Generator, 49-StateBuyers who want gasoline, propane and natural gas with L14-30R and 14-50R outletsRuns on gasoline, propane or natural gas with published ratings for eachNatural gas hookup needs a contractor, a shutoff valve and correct pressure
Generac 10kW Home Standby Generator with 16-Circuit Transfer Switch (G0073210)Backing up chosen circuits through a 16-space switch, professionally installedA 100 A, 16-space transfer switch paired with it on the spec sheet9 kW on natural gas per the spec sheet, not the 10 kW in the title
PowerSmart HB5040DC 3800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorBuyers who want a 50.7-pound dual-fuel inverter and are fine with pull startDual fuel at 50.7 pounds with a 30A outlet and parallel outletsMaker's 70 dB noise figure conflicts with Amazon's 59 dBA
Generac 7259 18kW Home Standby Generator with Cellular (G0072590)Whole-home standby power where a matching transfer switch is sourced separately17 kW on natural gas, 18 kW on propaneNo transfer switch or battery in this non-bundled listing
Generac 7326 24kW Home Standby Generator with 200A Transfer Switch (G0073260)Whole-home standby power with a 200 A service-rated switch on a pro install200 A service-rated switch with surge protection in the bundle22.5 kW on natural gas, not the 24 kW in the title
Pulsar GX400BN 4,000 Watt Dual-Fuel Inverter GeneratorOutdoor use with a 30-amp RV outlet on gasoline or propaneCarbon monoxide shutdown and low-oil shutdown in both maker documentsTank, run time, weight, dimensions and horsepower disagree across sources
Generac GP6500 COsense Portable Generator (76803, 49-state)Home backup or job-site power with a 30A twist-lock outlet and outdoor space6,500 running and 8,125 starting watts, per Generac49-state configuration; Generac's documents do not name the excluded state
Generac GP8000E COsense Electric Start Portable Generator (7715, 49ST/CSA)Home backup with a 30A twist-lock outlet, electric starting and outdoor space8,000 running and 10,000 starting watts, per GeneracRunning it does not charge the battery; the included wall charger does
DuroMax XP13000HXT 13,000-Watt Tri Fuel Generator with CO AlertHome backup on gasoline, propane or a natural gas line; not CARB certifiedRuns on gasoline, propane or natural gas, with separate ratings for eachPropane and natural gas watts differ between DuroMax's page and sales sheet

What to check before buying

The generator guides here cover portable, inverter and home standby units. They separate starting from running watts and give each figure for the fuel it assumes, list the exact outlets on the panel, and note the load and tank size behind the run-time claims. California sale status and what standby listings leave out are flagged too.

This page collects 40 generator guides from Plain Buy Guides. Each guide covers one exact Amazon listing: the maker's published specifications, what the listing says is included, the fit and installation limits that decide whether it suits you, and the main caveat, with every source listed and dated. Nothing here is based on hands-on testing, and no guide promises a price or stock level.

In the table above, the Best for column says who each model suits, and the strength and caveat columns carry the first point each guide makes. Open a guide before buying to confirm the exact model, the included parts and any conflict between the listing and the maker's documents, which each guide reports rather than settles. Side-by-side pages put the published facts of two models from this category in one place.

Compare the published specs

The main figures stated in each generator guide on this page, side by side, with each guide's sources behind them. Units are as published; nothing here was measured by us.

A table scrolls sideways when it is wider than the screen.

Portable generators

Published figures for 31 portable generators
Westinghouse iGen5000DF Dual Fuel InverterDual fuel3,9005,0003.4104.7
Westinghouse WGen9500DF Dual Fuel GeneratorDual fuel9,50012,5006.6 †210 or 211
Westinghouse WGen5300DFcv Dual Fuel GeneratorDual fuel5,3006,500 †4.7135.6
Champion 201050 4000-Watt Dual Fuel InverterDual fuel3,0004,0001.5451.8
WEN 56235i Portable Inverter GeneratorGasoline only1,9002,3501.0639
DuroMax XP13000EH 13,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable GeneratorDual fuel10,50013,0008.3234 or 246 or 248
WEN DF475T 4,750-Watt Dual Fuel Portable GeneratorDual fuel3,8004,7504105.8
DuroMax XP13000HX 13,000-Watt Dual Fuel Generator with CO AlertDual fuel10,50013,0008.3240 or 245 or 246
DuroMax XP5500HX 5,500-Watt Dual Fuel Generator with CO AlertDual fuel4,5005,5004128 or 131
Westinghouse WGen5300c Gas Portable Generator with CO SensorGasoline only5,3006,6004.7136.6
A-iPower SUA7600iED 7600W Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel6,1007,6003.6130
Westinghouse WGen11500TFc 14,500-Watt Tri-Fuel Portable GeneratorTri fuel11,50014,5009.5230
Champion 201319 4500-Watt Electric Start Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel3,5004,5002.2599.2 or 103.6
Westinghouse iGen4000DFcv 4000-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel3,3004,0001.66 or 1.6959
Westinghouse iGen12000DFc Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel9,00012,0007.9 †187.4 or 189
DuroStar DS13000MX 13,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable GeneratorDual fuel10,50013,0008.3209 or 220
WEN DF480iX 4800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel4,0004,8001.978.5
WEN DF280iX 2800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel2,2502,8001.5845.2 †
Champion 201438 12,500-Watt Electric Start Tri-Fuel Portable GeneratorTri fuel10,00012,5007.7231
Generac iQ5200DF Dual Fuel Inverter Generator, 49-State (G0089450)Dual fuel †3,9005,2003.2 †107
WEN DF680iX 6800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel5,1006,8002.994.8 or 99.2
DuroStar DS13000MXT 13,000-Watt Tri Fuel Portable GeneratorTri fuel10,50013,0008.3211 or 245
Westinghouse iGen12000TFc 12000-Watt Tri-Fuel Inverter GeneratorTri fuel9,00012,0007.9191
Westinghouse iGen8200TFc Tri Fuel Inverter GeneratorTri fuel6,6008,2003.9134.5
Westinghouse iGen2800DFc Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel2,000 or 2,2002,8001.1145 or 45.4
Generac GP9500E Tri Fuel Portable Generator, 49-StateTri fuel9,50012,5007.5219
PowerSmart HB5040DC 3800-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel3,3003,8001.350.7
Pulsar GX400BN 4,000 Watt Dual-Fuel Inverter GeneratorDual fuel3,2004,0002.1 †55 or 58
Generac GP6500 COsense Portable Generator (76803, 49-state)———7.9172
Generac GP8000E COsense Electric Start Portable Generator (7715, 49ST/CSA)———7.9198
DuroMax XP13000HXT 13,000-Watt Tri Fuel Generator with CO AlertTri fuel10,50013,0008.3240 or 246

— means the guide does not state that figure. “or” means the guide states more than one figure, for example where two sources disagree, for different modes or versions, or where a kit includes two tools; open the guide to see which applies. † means the guide reports that another source gives a different figure, or doubts the figure; open the guide. Only single figures in the column’s unit, with no mark, word or note in brackets, are sorted and counted below.

By the numbers: portable generators

These cover only the 31 portable generators on this site, not the whole market. Ranges use the figures the guides state; the lowest and highest link to their guides, and the median is the middle of those figures. A model whose figure is missing, not applicable, more than one, marked, in words, in another unit or qualified in brackets is left out of that line.

Home standby generators

— means the guide does not state that figure. “or” means the guide states more than one figure, for example where two sources disagree, for different modes or versions, or where a kit includes two tools; open the guide to see which applies. † means the guide reports that another source gives a different figure, or doubts the figure; open the guide. Only single figures in the column’s unit, with no mark, word or note in brackets, are sorted and counted below.

By the numbers: home standby generators

These cover only the 9 home standby generators on this site, not the whole market. Ranges use the figures the guides state; the lowest and highest link to their guides, and the median is the middle of those figures. A model whose figure is missing, not applicable, more than one, marked, in words, in another unit or qualified in brackets is left out of that line.

Read the full Running Watts buying guide (running-watts.pages.dev).