As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Best water flossers: tank time, power and safety lines in each manual
Compare tank time, power and safety lines on each maker’s own figures
A flosser’s tank time and power source depend on its type. Waterpik lists its plug-in Aquarius WP-660 at 22 oz for about 90 seconds, its rechargeable Pulse 3100 at 6 oz for about 45 seconds and its AA-powered WF-02 at 5 oz for about 30 seconds. Philips lists 250 ml for the Sonicare 3000, enough for a 60-second session and up to 90 seconds in Deep Clean mode. The table below lists all 21 models, each with its own guide.
No pressure in PSI appears on these four models’ maker pages or manuals. Waterpik gives 10 settings for the WP-660, 2 for the Pulse 3100 and 2 for the WF-02, and Philips gives 3 intensities. The Waterpik WP-660 and Pulse 3100 manuals and the Philips manual say to start on the lowest setting.
Waterpik’s manuals say not to direct water under the tongue, into the ear, nose or other delicate areas. They say the product can produce pressures that may cause serious damage there, and that the amoeba Naegleria fowleri, which may be present in some tap water or unchlorinated well water, may be fatal if directed into the nose or ear. Philips says not to use its flosser to clean eyes, ears or nose, and not to fill its reservoir with hot water.
Medical lines differ by maker. All three Waterpik manuals say not to use the flosser if you have an open wound on your tongue or in your mouth, and to remove any oral jewelry first. Waterpik says that if your physician (in the WP-660 manual, physician or cardiologist) advised antibiotic premedication before dental procedures, you should consult your dentist before using it. The Pulse 3100 manual adds that pacemakers and similar implanted medical devices may be affected by its magnet, and to contact your doctor with any questions.
Philips says to stop and consult your dentist or doctor if excessive bleeding occurs after use, if bleeding continues after 1 week of use or if you feel discomfort or pain. It also says to consult your dentist if you had oral or gum surgery in the previous 2 months, and to contact your doctor or the implant’s maker if you have a pacemaker or other implanted device.
A plug-in countertop unit: Waterpik Aquarius WP-660
Waterpik lists 22 oz for about 90 seconds, ten settings, Floss and Hydro-Pulse Massage modes and seven tips. It runs on 120VAC/60Hz in North America only, and the manual says not to use it while bathing or for more than 5 minutes in each two-hour period, a limit the Pulse 3100 instructions share. The unit shuts off after 5 minutes of continuous use, and the supply cord cannot be replaced. The three-year warranty covers the original consumer with a receipt and excludes tips; using the wrong voltage voids it.
Read the WP-660 guide · Check the WP-660 on Amazon
A rechargeable cordless unit: Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100
Waterpik lists 6 oz for about 45 seconds, two settings and a USB-C cable with no wall adapter. Its current instructions (©2026 edition) require a user-supplied USB-C wall charger, safety certified (IPX4), rated 5.0 V, 3.0 A max; the older manual on the Amazon listing asks for a USB-A charger rated 1.0 A max. Ask Waterpik which applies to your unit.
A full charge lasts up to 9 weeks, and charging is limited to 41 to 95°F. The page says it may be used in the shower; the manual says never to immerse it. The battery is not replaceable, and removing it voids the two-year warranty.
Read the Pulse 3100 guide · Check the Pulse 3100 on Amazon
A battery-powered unit with no charger: Waterpik Cordless Express WF-02
Waterpik lists 5 oz for about 30 seconds, two settings, two tips and three AA batteries. The manual says not to use lithium batteries, which it says can produce uncomfortable pressures and damage the appliance, and that doing so voids the warranty. It accepts alkaline and NiMH cells, asks for petroleum jelly on the battery cap seal at every battery change and gives typical battery life as at least 40 uses. The page says it may be used in the shower; the manual says never to immerse it. The warranty is one year.
Read the WF-02 guide · Check the WF-02 on Amazon
A cordless unit with a 250 ml tank: Philips Sonicare Cordless Power Flosser 3000
Philips lists two modes, three intensities and automatic shut-off after 2 minutes. Its manual says to charge only with Philips WAA1001 or WAA2001 adapters and elsewhere to use only a 5V IPX4 adapter, and to charge and use it between 41 and 104°F. It says not to clean any part in the dishwasher, then says the reservoir and nozzle case can go on the top rack; ask Philips.
Battery life reads 40 days on Philips’s page (one 1-minute session a day), at least 25 one-minute sessions in the manual and 14 days in Amazon’s bullet. The two-year warranty needs proof of purchase and excludes nozzles.
Read the Philips 3000 guide · Check the Philips 3000 on Amazon
Before you buy or use
- ADA Seal. Waterpik’s pages for the WP-660, Pulse 3100 and WF-02 say each is accepted by the American Dental Association. The ADA’s public entries read “Waterpik Countertop Family Water Flosser”, “Waterpik Cordless Water Flossers”, “Philips Sonicare Power Flosser” and “Coslus Oral Irrigator” and name no model numbers, and Philips’s HX3827 page does not mention the seal. Ask the maker whether your model is covered.
- Recalls. CPSC’s database, searched September 29, 2026, lists no recall naming Waterpik, Water Pik, Sonicare, a water flosser or an oral irrigator. Check cpsc.gov again before you order.
- Who sold it. The Waterpik and Philips warranties ask for a receipt or proof of purchase, and the documents read set no authorized-seller condition.
Based on published specifications, manuals and warranty terms, not usage tests. Sources checked September 29, 2026: Waterpik WP-660 (waterpik.com) and its manual (waterpik.com), Pulse 3100 (waterpik.com) and its instructions (waterpik.com), WF-02 (waterpik.com) and its manual (waterpik.com), Philips HX3827 (usa.philips.com) and its manual (documents.philips.com), and the ADA entries for Waterpik countertop (ada.org), Waterpik cordless (ada.org), Philips (ada.org) and Coslus (ada.org). Amazon links are affiliate links.
Compare every model in this category
Each row says who the model suits, its main strength and its main catch, taken from each guide's listed sources. Open a guide to confirm the exact model and what's included before you buy on Amazon.
| Product | Best for | Main strength | Main caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Waterpik Aquarius Countertop Water Flosser WP-660 (White) | A bathroom counter near a North American 120V outlet | Large 22-ounce tank lasts about 90 seconds per fill, per the maker | Needs counter space and a 120V outlet; not for use while bathing |
| Waterpik Cordless Advanced Water Flosser WP-580 (White) | A cordless flosser charged by magnetic USB | Cordless and usable in the shower, according to Waterpik | Small 7-ounce tank lasts about 45 seconds |
| Philips Sonicare Cordless Power Flosser 3000, HX3826/21 (White, 2 Nozzles) | A cordless flosser with a 250 ml tank | Cordless with USB charging and a 250 ml removable tank | The listing gives about 60 seconds per tank in Clean mode |
| Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100 Water Flosser, WF-20CD010 (White) | A two-setting cordless flosser where a 6-ounce tank is enough | Up to nine weeks per charge, according to Waterpik | Manuals disagree on the charger rating, and none is included |
| Waterpik Aquarius Countertop Water Flosser WP-667 (Modern Gray) | A shared bathroom where several people want their own tip and pressure setting | Seven tips and two under-lid tip slots suit more than one user | 120 V only, and the manual says other voltages void the warranty |
| Waterpik ION Professional Cordless Water Flosser, WF-12CD010-1 (White) | A bathroom with no free outlet by the sink but room for a countertop unit | No wall socket needed at the sink, with a magnetic handle cradle | Wall adapter is not included; you supply a 5.0 V, 1.0 A USB-A one |
| Waterpik Promax Countertop Water Flosser, WF-23W010 (White) | Two people sharing one machine who want the intensity eased up over time | Two profiles keep separate settings and separate SmartAdvance progress | SmartAdvance only advances if you floss for 1 minute |
| Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100 Water Flosser, WF-20CD013 (Blue) | Travel and small bathrooms where a short session per fill is acceptable | Up to nine weeks per charge, according to Waterpik and the listing | No wall adapter in the box; you supply a USB-C one to spec |
| Waterpik Cordless 1100 Water Flosser, WF-30CD010 (White) | A simple travel flosser for someone who will keep a charger with it | Waterproof body Waterpik says may be used in the shower | Battery is quoted at only about three weeks per charge |
| Waterpik Sensonic Complete Care Water Flosser and Toothbrush, CC-04CD010-1 (White) | A bathroom with one free socket and room for a single combined unit | Flosser and toothbrush share one socket and one footprint | Two sets of consumables: brush heads plus flosser tips |
| Waterpik Cordless Gem 5100 Water Flosser, WF-27CD013 (Blue) | Packing a flosser that will not switch itself on in a suitcase | Travel mode prevents the flosser turning on during travel | Wall adapter is not included; you supply a USB-C one to spec |
| Waterpik Cordless Express Water Flosser, WF-02W010 (White) | Travel where charging is awkward and replaceable cells are simpler | No charger, no cable and no charge time before first use | Lithium batteries are prohibited and using them voids the warranty |
| Philips Sonicare Countertop Power Flosser 5000, HX3811/20 (White, 2 Nozzles) | People who want a plug-in countertop flosser with a large tank and a dial | Large 550 ml tank with a ten-step intensity dial on the base | Philips serves a manual for it whose model-number note says HX37XX |
| Philips Sonicare Power Flosser & Toothbrush System 7000, HX3921/40 (White) | People who want the flosser and an electric toothbrush sharing one base | Flosser and toothbrush charge and live on one countertop base | Tank size, 600 ml, is printed only on the listing, not by Philips |
| Philips Sonicare Cordless Power Flosser 3000, HX3827/21 (White, 4 Nozzles) | People who want a cordless flosser and spare Quad Stream nozzles in one box | Four nozzles in the box, so spares are already included | Battery life stated as 14 days, 40 days and 25 sessions across sources |
| AquaSonic Home Dental Center Pro, HDCPro (Black Series Pro set) | People who want a large flosser tank and a brush dock in one plug-in unit | 600 ml tank on the base, with a ten-level pressure dial | Brush motor speed and mode count differ between the listing and maker |
| Bostontech Aquapik 100 Countertop Water Flosser, AQ100 (White) | Households sharing one countertop flosser with separate colour-coded tips | Maker publishes a pressure range, 30 to 130 PSI, across ten levels | Manual says draining before sub-zero exposure or the warranty will not apply |
| COSLUS E40 Cordless Water Flosser, WFP14 (Black Pro) | People who want to change flosser pressure by dial while it is running | Dial lets you change pressure mid-session, with a published 30-150 PSI range | Registration deadline differs: seven days on the card, thirty on the site |
| COSLUS C51 Cordless Water Flosser (White) | Travellers who want the spare nozzle stored inside the flosser itself | Manual publishes a pressure range, 30 to 130 PSI, across six levels | No charge time or battery runtime is published by any source |
| COSLUS C50 Cordless Water Flosser (Pink) | People who want a light cordless flosser with an easy-press control button | 300 ml removable tank on a cordless handle, per the maker Specs panel | Tip count differs between the maker's own panels and the listing |
| TUREWELL FC162 Countertop Water Flosser, 600 ml (White) | Families sharing one countertop flosser with a tip for each purpose | Publishes a pressure range, 30 to 125 PSI, across ten settings | Maker page allows mouthwash in one line and forbids it in the next |
What to check before buying
The water flosser guides here cover countertop, cordless and combined brush units. They give each tank size with the flossing time the maker says one fill lasts, check whether a charger is in the box and how charge figures compare across sources, and read what the maker says about shower use, voltage, tip counts and warranty exclusions.
- Tank size and fill time. Tank sizes in the guides run from 5 oz to 600 ml. Makers tie them to time per fill, from about 30 seconds on the smallest cordless tank to about 90 seconds on a 22 oz countertop reservoir.
- Charger and charge figures. Several cordless models ship without a wall adapter and state the USB output you must supply. Guides also report charge times of 4 against 8 hours for one model, and battery life given as days, weeks or sessions depending on the source.
- Shower use and voltage. Water claims and manual rules can differ. Guides report IPX7 models whose manuals say do not submerge, a shower-use claim beside a never-immerse instruction, and corded units limited to 120 V while another accepts 100-240 V.
- Tips, settings and PSI. Check how many tips come and how often they are replaced. Guides report tip counts that differ between the maker's own panels, replacement intervals of 3 or 6 months, and pressure given as a PSI range by some makers and not published by others.
- Warranty exclusions. Several warranties exclude tips or reservoirs. Guides report a sealed battery whose removal voids cover, lithium cells ruled out on an AA model, and registration windows of seven or thirty days.
This page collects 21 water flosser guides from Plain Buy Guides. Each guide covers one exact Amazon listing: the maker's published specifications, what the listing says is included, the fit and installation limits that decide whether it suits you, and the main caveat, with every source listed and dated. Nothing here is based on hands-on testing, and no guide promises a price or stock level.
In the table above, the Best for column says who each model suits, and the strength and caveat columns carry the first point each guide makes. Open a guide before buying to confirm the exact model, the included parts and any conflict between the listing and the maker's documents, which each guide reports rather than settles. Side-by-side pages put the published facts of two models from this category in one place.
Compare the published specs
The main figures stated in each water flosser guide on this page, side by side, with each guide's sources behind them. Units are as published; nothing here was measured by us.
A table scrolls sideways when it is wider than the screen. Select a column heading to sort.
— means the guide does not state that figure. † means the guide reports that another source gives a different figure, or doubts the figure; open the guide. A figure in another unit is shown as the guide gives it and is not sorted or counted. Only single figures in the column’s unit, with no mark, word or note in brackets, are sorted and counted below.
By the numbers
These cover only the 21 water flossers on this site, not the whole market. Ranges use the figures the guides state; the lowest and highest link to their guides, and the median is the middle of those figures. A model whose figure is missing, not applicable, more than one, marked, in words, in another unit or qualified in brackets is left out of that line.
- Type across our 21 water flossers: Cordless: 12; Countertop: 6; not stated, not applicable or more than one: 3.
- Reservoir across the 11 of our 21 water flossers that state one figure: 5 oz to 22 oz, median 7 oz. Lowest: Waterpik Cordless Express Water Flosser, WF-02W010 (White). Highest: Waterpik Aquarius Countertop Water Flosser WP-660 (White) and 1 other.
Read the full One Tank Clean buying guide (one-tank-clean.pages.dev).
- Waterpik Aquarius Countertop Water Flosser WP-660 (White)
Waterpik Aquarius WP-660 guide: 22 oz tank for about 90 seconds, 10 pressure settings, which 7 tips are included, tip replacement, use limits and warranty.
- Waterpik Cordless Advanced Water Flosser WP-580 (White)
Waterpik Cordless Advanced WP-580 guide: 7 oz tank for about 45 seconds, 3 settings, 4 tips, 4 vs 8 hour charging, shower use vs no immersion, 2-year warranty.
- Philips Sonicare Cordless Power Flosser 3000, HX3826/21 (White, 2 Nozzles)
Philips Sonicare Power Flosser 3000 (HX3826/21) guide: 250 ml tank, 25 sessions vs 40 days per charge, 3 intensities, 2 nozzles, cleaning and 2-year warranty.
- Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100 Water Flosser, WF-20CD010 (White)
Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100 (WF-20) guide: 6 oz tank, low and high settings, two tips, 9-week battery, two manuals with different charger specs, shower use.
- Waterpik Aquarius Countertop Water Flosser WP-667 (Modern Gray)
Waterpik Aquarius WP-667 guide: ten pressure settings, floss and massage modes, a timer you can switch off, seven tips, 120V only and a three-year warranty.
- Waterpik ION Professional Cordless Water Flosser, WF-12CD010-1 (White)
Waterpik ION WF-12 guide: about four weeks per charge, a 4.5 to 5 hour recharge, the USB-A charger you must supply, seven tips and a battery you cannot replace.
- Waterpik Promax Countertop Water Flosser, WF-23W010 (White)
Waterpik Promax WF-23 guide: SmartAdvance mode, a four-bar quadrant timer, two user profiles, ten intensities, global voltage and a three-year limited warranty.
- Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100 Water Flosser, WF-20CD013 (Blue)
Waterpik Cordless Pulse 3100 in blue (WF-20CD013): two settings, a 6 oz tank, up to nine weeks per charge, the charger you must supply, and a two-year warranty.
- Waterpik Cordless 1100 Water Flosser, WF-30CD010 (White)
Waterpik Cordless 1100 (WF-30CD) guide: one tip, two settings, a 6 oz tank, about three weeks per charge, a charger you supply and a one-year limited warranty.
- Waterpik Sensonic Complete Care Water Flosser and Toothbrush, CC-04CD010-1 (White)
Waterpik Sensonic Complete Care (CC-04) guide: a ten-setting flosser and sonic brush on one outlet, three brush modes, replacement intervals and a two-year warranty.
- Waterpik Cordless Gem 5100 Water Flosser, WF-27CD013 (Blue)
Waterpik Cordless Gem 5100 (WF-27CD013) guide: travel mode, EasySpin rotation, three tips, a 7 oz tank, nine weeks per charge and a two-year limited warranty.
- Waterpik Cordless Express Water Flosser, WF-02W010 (White)
Waterpik Cordless Express (WF-02) guide: three AA batteries, no lithium cells, a 5 oz tank, the petroleum jelly step at every change, and a one-year warranty.
- Philips Sonicare Countertop Power Flosser 5000, HX3811/20 (White, 2 Nozzles)
Philips Sonicare Countertop Power Flosser 5000 (HX3811/20): 550 ml tank, two modes, ten intensities, F1 and F3 nozzles, weekly cleaning, two-year warranty.
- Philips Sonicare Power Flosser & Toothbrush System 7000, HX3921/40 (White)
Philips Sonicare Power Flosser & Toothbrush System 7000 (HX3921/40): four modes, ten intensities, F1-F3 nozzles, a built-in brush charger, two-year warranty.
- Philips Sonicare Cordless Power Flosser 3000, HX3827/21 (White, 4 Nozzles)
Philips Sonicare Cordless Power Flosser 3000 (HX3827/21) with four nozzles: 250 ml tank, three battery figures that disagree, and the manual's cleaning rules.
- AquaSonic Home Dental Center Pro, HDCPro (Black Series Pro set)
AquaSonic Home Dental Center Pro (HDCPro): a 600 ml flosser tank with a ten-level dial, a Black Series Pro brush, and specs the two sources state differently.
- Bostontech Aquapik 100 Countertop Water Flosser, AQ100 (White)
Bostontech Aquapik 100 (AQ100) countertop flosser: a 600 ml tank, ten pressure levels at a stated 30-130 PSI, eight nozzles, and a three-year warranty.
- COSLUS E40 Cordless Water Flosser, WFP14 (Black Pro)
COSLUS E40 (WFP14) cordless flosser: a ten-level pressure dial, a stated 30-150 PSI range, 300 ml tank, five tips, and a warranty you activate within a week.
- COSLUS C51 Cordless Water Flosser (White)
COSLUS C51 cordless flosser: three modes including a press-and-hold Jet, six levels over 30-130 PSI, a 300 ml tank, and a nozzle that stores in the base.
- COSLUS C50 Cordless Water Flosser (Pink)
COSLUS C50 cordless flosser: a 300 ml tank, five pressure levels, tip counts that differ between sources, and warranty cover that needs registering.
- TUREWELL FC162 Countertop Water Flosser, 600 ml (White)
TUREWELL FC162 countertop flosser: a 600 ml tank, ten levels over a stated 30-125 PSI, eight tips, and a maker page that contradicts itself on mouthwash.