As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Cordless drill guides: 24 models, one plain row each
Each row says who the model suits, its main strength and its main catch, taken from each guide's listed sources. Open a guide to confirm the exact model and what's included before you buy on Amazon.
| Product | Best for | Main strength | Main caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT DCD771C2 20V MAX Drill/Driver Kit | A two-battery DEWALT 20V MAX drill/driver kit | Two batteries are included | DEWALT's page gives both 1.3Ah and 1.5Ah for the batteries |
| Makita XFD131 18V LXT Brushless Driver-Drill Kit | A brushless 18V LXT driver-drill kit with one battery | Brushless motor | Only one battery is included |
| BOSCH PS31-2A 12V Max Drill/Driver Kit | A 12V Max drill/driver kit with two batteries and a charger | Two batteries and a BC330 charger are included | Manual capacities stop at 3/4 in in wood and 3/8 in in mild metal |
| DEWALT DCD777D1 20V MAX Brushless Drill/Driver Kit | A brushless DEWALT 20V MAX drill/driver kit with one battery | Brushless motor | Only one battery is included |
| BLACK+DECKER LD120VA 20V MAX Drill/Driver Kit | A light 20V MAX drill/driver kit sold with a bit set | Battery, charger and a 30-piece bit set are in the box, per the listing | Neither maker document prints a speed or torque figure |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 CMCD711C2 Hammer Drill Kit | A V20 hammer drill kit with two batteries | Hammer action at 25,500 blows per minute | CRAFTSMAN's page gives two battery capacities, 1.5 Ah and 1.3 Ah |
| Milwaukee 2695-24 M18 Cordless 4-Tool Combo Kit | Buyers wanting an M18 drill, impact driver, HACKZALL saw and work light in one kit, with brushed motors | Four tools including a HACKZALL saw and a work light | Drill and impact driver have brushed motors |
| CRAFTSMAN CMCD700C1 V20 Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit | Drilling and screwdriving on one V20 battery with a 1/2 in. chuck | Two speeds, 0-350 and 0-1,500 rpm, per CRAFTSMAN | Only one battery, listed as 1.3Ah and as 1.5Ah |
| Makita XT269T 18V LXT Brushless 2-Piece Combo Kit (5.0Ah) | A hammer driver-drill and impact driver pair on Makita 18V LXT 5.0Ah batteries | Two 5.0Ah batteries and a 45-minute rapid charger | Warranty length conflicts between Makita's page and its tool manuals |
| Makita XPH14T 18V LXT Brushless 1/2 in. Hammer Driver-Drill Kit (5.0Ah) | Drilling with hole saws up to 6 in. or masonry bits up to 5/8 in. on Makita 18V LXT batteries | Manual capacities up to 6 in. hole saws and 5/8 in. masonry | Single tool; no impact driver in the kit |
| SKIL HD6294B-10 PWRCORE 20 Brushless 1/2 in. Compact Hammer Drill Kit | A compact 20V hammer drill kit with one battery and a charger | 2.03 lb compact hammer drill with three modes | Only one 2.0Ah battery |
| SKIL CB8437B-10 PWRCORE 20 Brushless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit | Buyers who want a SKIL sub-compact drill driver and impact driver sharing one 2.0Ah battery | Charger rated at about 30 minutes for the included 2.0Ah pack | Only one battery for two tools |
| FLEX FX1271T-1H 24V 1/2 in. Hammer Drill with Turbo Mode Kit (6.0Ah) | Drilling and hammer drilling on FLEX's 24V system with one 6.0Ah battery | Large 6.0Ah battery and rapid charger in the kit | Only one battery, and Turbo mode drains it faster per the manual |
| DEWALT DCD1007WW1 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill Kit with 8Ah Battery | Large holes in wood, metal and masonry with one 8Ah battery | Manual capacity table covers 5 in. hole saws and 1/2 in. masonry bits | Only one battery, so no swap while charging |
| CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2 V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit | Home drilling and driving with a brushless V20 drill and two batteries | Brushless motor with two 2Ah batteries | No hammer mode; that is the CMCD726 |
| Makita XT297T 18V LXT Brushless 2-Piece Combo Kit (5.0Ah) | Wood boring up to a 6 in. hole saw and masonry to 5/8 in. on Makita 18V LXT | Drill manual lists 6 in. hole saws and 5/8 in. masonry | Side grip required by the manual is not named in kit lists |
| SKIL CB8002B-10 PWRCORE 20 Brushless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Combo Kit | Drilling and fastening with two brushless tools on one battery | Both tools brushless with electric brakes | Only one 2.0Ah battery for two tools |
| DEWALT DCD801QQ2 20V MAX XR Brushless Drill/Driver Kit with Two 4Ah POWERPACK Batteries | Wood and metal drilling and driving without a hammer mode | Two 4Ah XR POWERPACK batteries with a brushless drill/driver | No hammer mode and no masonry capacity listed in the manual |
| Bosch GXL18V-241B22 18V 2-Tool Combo Kit | Driving screws and running nuts with one impact tool plus a hammer drill | Impact driver/wrench takes both hex bits and 1/2 in. sockets | Impact tool ratings were measured on a 12Ah battery, not the 2Ah packs |
| DEWALT DCK540D1 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit | Starting a DEWALT 20V collection when a single small battery is enough | Five common tools in one DEWALT 20V MAX kit | One battery, which DEWALT lists as 2Ah despite the 5Ah title |
| DEWALT DCD801H1 20V MAX XR Brushless Drill/Driver Kit with 5Ah POWERSTACK Battery | Wood and metal drilling on one 5Ah POWERSTACK battery | XR drill/driver with a 5Ah POWERSTACK battery | Single battery with no spare |
| BLACK+DECKER BLD783D1 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 1/2 in. Hammer Drill Kit | Masonry holes and screwdriving on one 2Ah battery | Brushless hammer drill with a hammer mode for masonry | One 2Ah battery; 23 holes per charge in the maker's concrete test |
| Milwaukee 2697-22CT M18 Cordless Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit | Starting on Milwaukee's M18 battery platform with a hammer drill and impact driver | Hammer mode rated for 5/8 in. masonry holes in the manual | Drill and impact model numbers conflict between Amazon and Milwaukee |
| Hammerhead HCDD201 20V 2-Speed Cordless Drill Driver Kit with 1.5Ah Battery and Charger | Drilling and screw driving with a 3/8 in. chuck and one 1.5Ah pack | Two speeds and a 21-position clutch plus a drill mode | 225-minute charge on the HCCG013 charger, with one battery |
What to check before buying
The cordless drill guides here count the batteries in each kit and note when the maker and listing give different capacities. They separate drill/drivers from hammer drills, set the manual's hole capacities beside the listing's, and read how each maker states power. Side handles the manual requires and warranty registration terms are flagged too.
- Batteries in the kit. Check how many packs come and what size they are. Guides report capacities stated two ways by maker and listing, a title saying 5Ah where the maker lists 2Ah, and kits where two tools share one battery.
- Hammer mode and masonry. Several drill/drivers have no hammer mode, including one the listing labels a hammer drill. Among hammer drills, the manuals give masonry limits from 1/4 inch to 5/8 inch, so check the hole sizes you need.
- How power is stated. Makers state power differently. One publishes unit watts out and no torque, one measured its impact figures on a much larger battery than the kit includes, and guides report listing torque figures in the wrong unit or at a different value.
- Manual vs listing capacity. The guides take hole capacities from the manual's table, since several listings give wood or drilling figures that do not match it. Compact models can stop at 3/4 inch in wood; larger ones list hole saws up to 5 or 6 inches.
- Warranty terms and fields. Some longer terms require registration within 30 days. Guides also report a kit page showing No Warranty while the tool manuals say three years, a reconditioned unit with unconfirmed cover, and shorter cover for professional use.
This page collects 24 cordless drill guides from Plain Buy Guides. Each guide covers one exact Amazon listing: the maker's published specifications, what the listing says is included, the fit and installation limits that decide whether it suits you, and the main caveat, with every source listed and dated. Nothing here is based on hands-on testing, and no guide promises a price or stock level.
In the table above, the Best for column says who each model suits, and the strength and caveat columns carry the first point each guide makes. Open a guide before buying to confirm the exact model, the included parts and any conflict between the listing and the maker's documents, which each guide reports rather than settles. Side-by-side pages put the published facts of two models from this category in one place.
Compare the published specs
The main figures stated in each cordless drill guide on this page, side by side, with each guide's sources behind them. Units are as published; nothing here was measured by us.
A table scrolls sideways when it is wider than the screen. Select a column heading to sort.
— means the guide does not state that figure. “or” means the guide states more than one figure, for example where two sources disagree, for different modes or versions, or where a kit includes two tools; open the guide to see which applies. † means the guide reports that another source gives a different figure, or doubts the figure; open the guide. Only single figures in the column’s unit, with no mark, word or note in brackets, are sorted and counted below.
By the numbers
These cover only the 24 cordless drills on this site, not the whole market. Ranges use the figures the guides state; the lowest and highest link to their guides, and the median is the middle of those figures. A model whose figure is missing, not applicable, more than one, marked, in words, in another unit or qualified in brackets is left out of that line.
- Kit across our 24 cordless drills: Drill/driver: 9; Hammer drill: 6; 2 tools: 6; 4 tools: 1; 5 tools: 1; not stated, not applicable or more than one: 1.
- Battery system across all 24 cordless drills: 12 V to 24 V, median 20 V. Lowest: BOSCH PS31-2A 12V Max Drill/Driver Kit. Highest: FLEX FX1271T-1H 24V 1/2 in. Hammer Drill with Turbo Mode Kit (6.0Ah).
- Battery across the 18 of our 24 cordless drills that state one figure: 1.5 Ah to 8 Ah, median 2.5 Ah. Lowest: Milwaukee 2697-22CT M18 Cordless Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit and 1 other. Highest: DEWALT DCD1007WW1 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill Kit with 8Ah Battery.
Read the full Drill Kit Check buying guide (drill-kit-check.pages.dev).
- DEWALT DCD771C2 20V MAX Drill/Driver Kit
DEWALT's DCD771C2 kit: a 20V MAX drill/driver with two batteries, a charger and a bag, rated at 300 UWO, with two battery capacities and no torque from DEWALT.
- Makita XFD131 18V LXT Brushless Driver-Drill Kit
Makita's XFD131 kit: an 18V LXT brushless 1/2 in driver-drill rated at 440 in-lbs, with one 3.0Ah battery, a DC18SD charger and a bag. Two maker weights are given.
- BOSCH PS31-2A 12V Max Drill/Driver Kit
Bosch's PS31-2A kit: a 12V Max drill/driver rated at 265 in-lbs, a 3/8 in chuck, clutch counts that differ, two 2.0Ah batteries, a BC330 charger and two weights.
- DEWALT DCD777D1 20V MAX Brushless Drill/Driver Kit
DEWALT's DCD777D1 kit: a brushless 20V MAX drill/driver rated at 340 UWO, one 2.0Ah battery and a charger, with top speed and capacity figures that vary by source.
- BLACK+DECKER LD120VA 20V MAX Drill/Driver Kit
BLACK+DECKER LD120VA kit guide: the LD120 20V MAX drill, a mode collar with drilling plus fifteen screwdriving settings, the listed bit set and a two-year warranty.
- CRAFTSMAN V20 CMCD711C2 Hammer Drill Kit
CRAFTSMAN's CMCD711C2 kit: a brushed V20 1/2 in hammer drill rated at 25,500 BPM and 280 UWO, with two batteries and a charger. Its page gives two battery sizes.
- Milwaukee 2695-24 M18 Cordless 4-Tool Combo Kit
Milwaukee 2695-24 guide: M18 hammer drill, impact driver, HACKZALL saw and work light with two 3.0Ah XC packs, manual capacities, side handle notes, warranty.
- CRAFTSMAN CMCD700C1 V20 Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit
CRAFTSMAN CMCD700C1 guide: brushed V20 1/2 in. drill/driver with one battery listed as 1.3Ah or 1.5Ah, a disputed clutch count, no hammer mode and warranty terms.
- Makita XT269T 18V LXT Brushless 2-Piece Combo Kit (5.0Ah)
Makita XT269T guide: XPH12 hammer driver-drill and XDT13 impact driver, two 5.0Ah packs, manual capacities, a 15-minute rest rule and a warranty-length conflict.
- Makita XPH14T 18V LXT Brushless 1/2 in. Hammer Driver-Drill Kit (5.0Ah)
Makita XPH14T guide: 1,250 in-lb hammer driver-drill, two BL1850B batteries, side handle, manual capacities up to 6 in. hole saws and a listing conflict.
- SKIL HD6294B-10 PWRCORE 20 Brushless 1/2 in. Compact Hammer Drill Kit
SKIL HD6294B-10 guide: compact brushless hammer drill kit with one 2.0Ah pack and a PWR JUMP charger, the 5 vs 30-minute charge gap and a registration warranty.
- SKIL CB8437B-10 PWRCORE 20 Brushless Compact Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit
SKIL CB8437B-10 guide: sub-compact brushless drill driver and 3-speed impact driver with Control Mode, one 2.0Ah battery, a 30-minute charger and listing oddities.
- FLEX FX1271T-1H 24V 1/2 in. Hammer Drill with Turbo Mode Kit (6.0Ah)
FLEX FX1271T-1H guide: 24V hammer drill with Turbo mode, 6.0Ah stacked battery, 280W charger, side handle, anti-kickback, and two warranty stories.
- DEWALT DCD1007WW1 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill Kit with 8Ah Battery
DEWALT DCD1007WW1 guide: three-speed hammer drill with one 8Ah pack, side handle, the manual's capacity table, the battery model mismatch and blank warranty field.
- CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2 V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit
CRAFTSMAN CMCD725D2 guide: brushless 495 UWO 1/2 in. drill/driver, two CMCB202 2Ah packs, magnetic bit holders, no hammer mode and unconfirmed listing capacities.
- Makita XT297T 18V LXT Brushless 2-Piece Combo Kit (5.0Ah)
Makita XT297T guide: XPH14 hammer driver-drill rated for 6 in. hole saws, four-mode XDT20 impact driver, two 5.0Ah packs, side grip note and a speed mismatch.
- SKIL CB8002B-10 PWRCORE 20 Brushless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Combo Kit
SKIL CB8002B-10 guide: brushless 400 in-lb drill driver and 1,700 in-lb impact driver on one shared 2.0Ah battery, 17 clutch settings, 5-year warranty if registered.
- DEWALT DCD801QQ2 20V MAX XR Brushless Drill/Driver Kit with Two 4Ah POWERPACK Batteries
DEWALT DCD801QQ2 guide: XR brushless drill/driver with two 4Ah POWERPACK packs, no hammer mode, the manual's capacity table and listing specs that do not match it.
- Bosch GXL18V-241B22 18V 2-Tool Combo Kit
Bosch GXL18V-241B22 guide: GSB18V-65 hammer drill and GDX18V-285 bit/socket impact driver, two 2Ah packs, and torque ratings the manual measured on a 12Ah battery.
- DEWALT DCK540D1 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit
DEWALT DCK540D1 guide: drill, impact driver, two saws and an oscillating tool on one battery DEWALT lists as 2Ah though the Amazon title says 5Ah, plus warranty.
- DEWALT DCD801H1 20V MAX XR Brushless Drill/Driver Kit with 5Ah POWERSTACK Battery
DEWALT DCD801H1 guide: XR drill/driver with one 5Ah POWERSTACK pack, no hammer mode despite a hammer-drill label, capacities and a 30-day guarantee.
- BLACK+DECKER BLD783D1 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 1/2 in. Hammer Drill Kit
BLACK+DECKER BLD783D1 guide: brushless 20V hammer drill with one 2Ah pack and 1A charger, 10 clutch settings, the 23-holes claim and a 2+3 year warranty.
- Milwaukee 2697-22CT M18 Cordless Hammer Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit
Milwaukee 2697-22CT guide: M18 hammer drill and impact driver kit with two compact packs, conflicting model numbers, manual capacities and warranty terms.
- Hammerhead HCDD201 20V 2-Speed Cordless Drill Driver Kit with 1.5Ah Battery and Charger
Hammerhead HCDD201 guide: 3/8 in. two-speed drill driver with one 1.5Ah pack, a 225-minute charge time, 21+1 clutch, and a 24-month non-pro warranty.
Driver or wrench for your fasteners?
Impact driver vs impact wrench: jobs, torque and complete kits
Hammer drill or impact driver for your job?
Hammer drill vs impact driver: jobs, bits and complete kits
Need bits for metal?
Drill bits for metal: material, tool fit and included sizes
For cutting and grinding metal rather than drilling it, see our DEWALT angle grinders guide.
Need a benchtop drill press?
Set the layout before drilling
Choose cross lines for one wall, 360-degree planes for room-wide references or dedicated plumb points. Compare batteries, mounting and required extras in the laser level buying guide.