As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Best GPS dog collars: check the plan, coverage and what the box leaves out
Choose how the collar reaches you before you compare features
A cellular tracker needs a paid plan and a cell signal, while a radio system needs neither. Pawfit's page says its tracker reports over 4G and that your phone needs a network connection too, and its manual says to move into open air if 4G coverage is poor. PetSafe needs a subscription for each dog, and its page says cellular service is required for its GPS fences to function properly.
Dogtra and Garmin link the collar by radio on the MURS band; Dogtra says no subscription is needed, and Garmin's specs for the collar list none. Check each maker's current plan terms before you order.
A radio range is a line-of-sight best case. Dogtra's manual says its 9 miles is for flat terrain and that heavy brush, trees, hills, buildings and moisture reduce it. Garmin's manual says to keep a clear line of sight to the collar. A cellular tracker has no radio limit but works only where the network reaches: Pawfit calls its range unlimited, and the Amazon listing adds “wherever mobile network coverage is available”. The table below lists all 11 models.
A cellular tracker with a plan: Pawfit 3
Pawfit's page lists 0.96 oz, up to 8 days of battery, IP68 to 9.8 feet for 30 minutes and live updates every 5 seconds in Find mode. Its manual says routine updates come every 30 seconds to 2 hours. You pick a paid plan while adding the tracker in the app, and Amazon says only 30 days are included for a limited time. Pawfit's page shows two plan tiers: the higher one allows tracked walks of up to 6 hours against 2 for the lower, and the manual says history export needs the higher tier. The page says it suits cats and dogs over 7.7 lb.
Read the Pawfit 3 guide · Check the Pawfit 3 on Amazon
Radio and a phone, no plan: Dogtra PATHFINDER2
Dogtra says the system runs from a free phone app with offline maps and no monthly subscription. The GPS Connector links your phone to the collar, and the manual wants it near the phone, preferably within 33 feet. Dogtra's package list includes the GPS Connector, but the Amazon listing's first bullet says the connector is not included and is required, so confirm what ships before you order. It is also an e-collar with stimulation, though Dogtra lists a tracking-only mode. It fits dogs from 35 lb with a 12.5 inch neck.
Read the PATHFINDER2 guide · Check the PATHFINDER2 on Amazon
A collar that needs a Garmin handheld: Alpha TT 25
This listing is the collar alone; Amazon says it pairs with Garmin handhelds such as the Alpha and Pro 550 Plus, sold separately. Garmin lists a MURS radio link with up to 9 miles of range. Garmin's 68 hour battery figure uses the dynamic update rate, which its manual says is not available in all areas; the figure is 25 hours at 2.5 seconds and 84 hours at 2 minutes. Garmin's pages give no minimum neck size or dog weight, and the manual says to take the collar off for at least 8 hours in every 24.
Read the Alpha TT 25 guide · Check the Alpha TT 25 on Amazon
A fence that also tracks: PetSafe Guardian GPS 2.0
PetSafe requires a monthly or annual subscription with a one-month free trial, and Amazon says each dog needs its own collar and plan. At the boundary the collar sounds a warning tone and then corrects with vibration or static, and you can switch the boundaries off to track only. PetSafe's FAQ says that without cellular service the collar can keep a virtual fence from stored GPS data, but you cannot track live or get notifications. It fits necks of 8 inches and up, may be too large under 10 lb, and suits properties of half an acre or more without dense trees.
Read the Guardian GPS 2.0 guide · Check the Guardian GPS 2.0 on Amazon
Before you order
- Correction functions. The Dogtra and Garmin collars include stimulation, and PetSafe's fence collar delivers vibration or static. Pawfit's page lists none.
- Wear time. Dogtra says no more than 4 to 6 hours at any one time. PetSafe says no more than 12 hours a day, to remove the collar when your dog comes inside and never to attach a leash or ID tag, and it does not recommend its fence for dogs with a history of aggressive behavior. Garmin says at least 8 hours off in every 24.
- What runs it. Pawfit and PetSafe run from a phone app, and PetSafe needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup and updates. Dogtra needs a smartphone and the connector, and Garmin needs a compatible Garmin handheld.
- Notifications. PetSafe's user guide says phone alerts depend on cellular connections and can be late or missed, so do not rely on them alone.
- Warranty. Dogtra's manual says its one-year warranty and the extra promotional year both apply only if you bought from a Dogtra-authorized retailer and have a receipt naming that retailer, so ask Dogtra whether the Amazon seller qualifies. Pawfit's page lists an 18-month warranty under “Exclusively on the Pawfit website”, and PetSafe's user guide states one year, but we did not read their full terms. Garmin's owner's manual prints no warranty terms.
Based on published specifications, manuals and plan terms, not tracking tests. Sources checked September 29, 2026: Pawfit 3 (pawfit.com) and its manual (m.media-amazon.com), Dogtra PATHFINDER2 (dogtra.com) and its manual (cdn.shopify.com), Garmin Alpha TT 25 (garmin.com) and its owner's manual (www8.garmin.com), and PetSafe Guardian GPS 2.0 (petsafe.com) and its user guide (m.media-amazon.com). Amazon links are affiliate links.
Compare every model in this category
Each row says who the model suits, its main strength and its main catch, taken from each guide's listed sources. Open a guide to confirm the exact model and what's included before you buy on Amazon.
| Product | Best for | Main strength | Main caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tractive DOG 6 XL GPS Pet Tracker, Brown (TG6XLC) | Large dogs, with an owner who keeps a subscription active | Up to 42 days of battery with Power Saving Zones, per Tractive | Needs an active subscription to send location data |
| Garmin TT 15 mini Dog Device (010-01486-00) | Owners of small dogs, necks from 9.5 inches per the listing, who already use a compatible Garmin Alpha or Astro handheld | Listed for small dogs, with a 9.5 inch minimum neck and a 7.5 ounce weight | Garmin's manual gives the mini 4 miles of range; the listing says 9 |
| Garmin Alpha TT 25 Dog Tracking and Training Collar (010-02447-20) | Dog owners who have, or will buy, a compatible Garmin Alpha or Pro 550 Plus handheld | Garmin publishes battery life at three update rates, not just a headline | Collar only: a compatible Garmin handheld must be bought separately |
| Dogtra PATHFINDER2 GPS Tracking and E-Collar System | Owners of dogs of 35 pounds and up, with a 12.5 inch or larger neck, who want phone-based tracking and training with no subscription | No subscription and offline maps, per Dogtra | Needs a smartphone, ideally within 33 feet of the connector |
| Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI GPS Tracking and E-Collar System | Owners of smaller hunting dogs who want phone-based tracking and training without a subscription | No subscription and offline maps, per Dogtra | Dogtra gives two minimum dog weights, 15 and 25 pounds |
| Petcube GPS Tracker for Dogs (13-LC6F-PCX9) | Owners who want a light LTE tracker with Lost Pet mode and will pay for a Petcube plan | Light at 29 grams, with a case that stays on the collar while charging | A Petcube plan is required after setup |
| Pawfit 3 GPS Dog Tracker | Dog owners who want cellular GPS tracking with voice recall and accept a paid plan | Very light at 0.96 ounces, with up to 8 days per charge | A paid plan is required; the listing includes only 30 days |
| PAJ PET Finder 4G GPS Dog Tracker (Blue) | Owners of dogs over 4 kg who want a 4G tracker with a built-in SIM and accept a plan after 3 months | Built-in SIM with three months of Premium included | PAJ's battery figures range from 9 hours to 10 days by document |
| PetSafe Guardian GPS 2.0 Dog Fence + Tracking (PIF00-18096) | Owners of open yards of 1/2 acre or more who want both a virtual fence and live tracking | Fence and real-time tracking in one collar, with a tracking-only mode | Subscription required for every dog, on top of a collar per dog |
| Dogtra GPS Fence Virtual Fence Collar | Owners of open outdoor properties of at least 3/4 acre who want containment without a subscription | No monthly fee, and the collar works without a phone after setup | No live tracking or notifications; containment only |
| Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI COMPASS GPS Tracking and E-Collar Set | Hunters who want GPS tracking and e-collar control on a dedicated handheld rather than a phone | Handheld works without a phone after setup, with its own screen and compass | Maps and fences need the PF2 app on a compatible phone |
What to check before buying
The pet tracker guides here separate cellular trackers that need a paid plan from radio and phone-linked systems that do not. They set battery claims beside the update rate or power-saving mode they assume, quote each maker's minimum pet size, and list any handheld, phone or yard size a system requires. Range and accuracy claims are compared with the maker's documents.
- Plan or no plan. Cellular trackers here need a paid plan once any included period ends. Two phone-linked systems state that no subscription is needed.
- Battery and its mode. Battery claims depend on settings. Guides report figures stated with a power-saving mode in use, 25 to 84 hours on one collar depending on update rate, and one maker giving 1 to 3 days of tracking against up to 10 days in power-saving mode.
- Minimum pet size. Makers set minimum weights and collar or neck sizes. Guides report minimums from an 8-inch neck to 35 lb and a 12.5-inch neck, and one maker giving two minimum dog weights for the same collar.
- What else you need. Some collars ship without the device that runs them. Guides report collars needing a separately sold handheld, systems run from a phone app, a set with its own handheld, and a fence collar needing 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for setup and updates, and cell service for live tracking and alerts (PetSafe's page says its fences need it too).
- Range, updates, yard size. Guides report a manual range of 4 miles against 9 on the listing, routine location updates from 30 seconds to two hours apart, and fence systems that need half an acre or three-quarters of an acre.
This page collects 11 pet tracker guides from Plain Buy Guides. Each guide covers one exact Amazon listing: the maker's published specifications, what the listing says is included, the fit and installation limits that decide whether it suits you, and the main caveat, with every source listed and dated. Nothing here is based on hands-on testing, and no guide promises a price or stock level.
In the table above, the Best for column says who each model suits, and the strength and caveat columns carry the first point each guide makes. Open a guide before buying to confirm the exact model, the included parts and any conflict between the listing and the maker's documents, which each guide reports rather than settles. Side-by-side pages put the published facts of two models from this category in one place.
Compare the published specs
The main figures stated in each pet tracker guide on this page, side by side, with each guide's sources behind them. Units are as published; nothing here was measured by us.
A table scrolls sideways when it is wider than the screen. Select a column heading to sort.
| Tractive DOG 6 XL GPS Pet Tracker, Brown (TG6XLC) | LTE/4G | 2.5 |
|---|---|---|
| Garmin TT 15 mini Dog Device (010-01486-00) | VHF radio | 7.5 |
| Garmin Alpha TT 25 Dog Tracking and Training Collar (010-02447-20) | VHF radio | 6.75 or 9.26 † |
| Dogtra PATHFINDER2 GPS Tracking and E-Collar System | — | 6.6 |
| Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI GPS Tracking and E-Collar System | — | 5.3 |
| Petcube GPS Tracker for Dogs (13-LC6F-PCX9) | LTE/4G | 29 g † |
| Pawfit 3 GPS Dog Tracker | LTE/4G | 0.96 |
| PAJ PET Finder 4G GPS Dog Tracker (Blue) | LTE/4G | 32 g or 48 g |
| PetSafe Guardian GPS 2.0 Dog Fence + Tracking (PIF00-18096) | Cellular | — |
| Dogtra GPS Fence Virtual Fence Collar | — | 6.9 |
| Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI COMPASS GPS Tracking and E-Collar Set | — | 5.3 or 6.4 |
— means the guide does not state that figure. “or” means the guide states more than one figure, for example where two sources disagree, for different modes or versions, or where a kit includes two tools; open the guide to see which applies. † means the guide reports that another source gives a different figure, or doubts the figure; open the guide. A figure in another unit is shown as the guide gives it and is not sorted or counted. Only single figures in the column’s unit, with no mark, word or note in brackets, are sorted and counted below.
By the numbers
These cover only the 11 pet trackers on this site, not the whole market. Ranges use the figures the guides state; the lowest and highest link to their guides, and the median is the middle of those figures. A model whose figure is missing, not applicable, more than one, marked, in words, in another unit or qualified in brackets is left out of that line.
- Network named across our 11 pet trackers: LTE/4G: 4; VHF radio: 2; Cellular: 1; not stated, not applicable or more than one: 4.
- Tracker weight across the 6 of our 11 pet trackers that state one figure: 0.96 oz to 7.5 oz, median 5.95 oz. Lowest: Pawfit 3 GPS Dog Tracker. Highest: Garmin TT 15 mini Dog Device (010-01486-00).
Read the full GPS or Tag buying guide (gps-or-tag.pages.dev).
- Tractive DOG 6 XL GPS Pet Tracker, Brown (TG6XLC)
Tractive DOG 6 XL guide: a cellular GPS dog tracker rated for dogs above 44 lb in one place and 55.1 lb in another, and battery with or without Power Saving Zones.
- Garmin TT 15 mini Dog Device (010-01486-00)
Garmin TT 15 mini guide: a small-dog GPS tracking and training collar that needs a separate Garmin handheld, with a 4-mile manual range the listing gives as 9 miles.
- Garmin Alpha TT 25 Dog Tracking and Training Collar (010-02447-20)
Garmin Alpha TT 25 guide: a GPS dog tracking and training collar with 9-mile radio range, battery life of 25 to 84 hours by update rate, and no handheld in the box.
- Dogtra PATHFINDER2 GPS Tracking and E-Collar System
Dogtra PATHFINDER2 guide: a GPS tracking and e-collar system for dogs 35 lb and up, run from a phone app with offline maps, 9-mile range and no subscription.
- Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI GPS Tracking and E-Collar System
Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI guide: a no-subscription GPS e-collar run from a phone app, with 4-mile range and two different minimum dog weights on Dogtra's page.
- Petcube GPS Tracker for Dogs (13-LC6F-PCX9)
Petcube GPS Tracker guide: a 29 g LTE dog tracker that needs a Petcube plan, updates every 2 to 60 minutes by default, and has app and IP figures that vary.
- Pawfit 3 GPS Dog Tracker
Pawfit 3 guide: a 0.96 oz 4G GPS dog tracker that needs a Pawfit plan, with up to 8 days of battery, IP68, voice recall, and routine updates every 30 s to 2 hours.
- PAJ PET Finder 4G GPS Dog Tracker (Blue)
PAJ PET Finder 4G guide: a small 4G dog tracker with 3 plan months included, a subscription after, and battery and weight figures that differ by PAJ document.
- PetSafe Guardian GPS 2.0 Dog Fence + Tracking (PIF00-18096)
PetSafe Guardian GPS 2.0 fence and tracking collar: yard size and boundary rules, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and cell needs, per-dog plan, dog size, 70-hour battery.
- Dogtra GPS Fence Virtual Fence Collar
Dogtra GPS Fence guide: a no-subscription virtual fence collar for outdoor yards of 3/4 acre or more, with no live tracking and two minimum dog weights from Dogtra.
- Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI COMPASS GPS Tracking and E-Collar Set
Dogtra PATHFINDER2 MINI Compass guide: a GPS tracking and e-collar set with a standalone 2-inch handheld, 4-mile range and no fees, for dogs of 25 pounds and up.