Plain Buy Guides

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.

Right Size Air product guide

Honeywell HPA5200B InSight HEPA Air Purifier, Black

Rooms around 360 sq ft where a VOC-driven auto mode is wanted

Honeywell's HPA5200B pairs two Type R HEPA filters with a Type A pre-filter and adds a VOC sensor with an automatic mode. Honeywell rates it at 4.8 air changes per hour in 360 square feet. Replace HEPA filters yearly and the pre-filter every three months; none are washable.

Check this model on Amazon

Listing checked . Confirm the model, included parts and availability before ordering.

Published specifications

  • Honeywell: 4.8 air changes per hour in 360 sq ft
  • Honeywell: 2 R HEPA filters, replaced every 12 months
  • Honeywell: 1 A pre-filter, replaced every 3 months
  • Honeywell: VOC sensor, automatic mode
  • Honeywell: 19 x 17.9 x 10.06 in
  • Honeywell: five-year limited warranty

Fit and limits

Strengths

  • VOC sensor with automatic mode
  • Clear filter part letters and intervals from Honeywell
  • Five-year limited warranty

Caveats

  • 360 sq ft for frequent air changes, far below 1,700 headline
  • Pre-filter every 3 months; no washable filters
  • Owner's manual not readable online for full warranty terms

What the HPA5200B is

Honeywell's product page lists SKU HPA5200B, a black console in its InSight series for large rooms. It uses two Type R HEPA filters behind one Type A pre-filter, and it has a VOC sensor and an automatic mode. Both filter types are in the box.

Honeywell gives the dimensions as 19 by 17.9 by 10.06 inches. The Amazon listing calls the pre-filter activated carbon, describes three stages and lists 16.3 pounds and 21.6 watts; Honeywell's page we read does not state weight or power, and it describes the filter set rather than a stage count.

Room size: 360 square feet at 4.8 changes

Honeywell says the HPA5200 can circulate and clean the air 4.8 times per hour in a 360 square foot room. The Amazon title's 1,700 square feet, and the 1,733 in Honeywell's own page title, describe roughly one air change per hour. Use the 360 figure if you want the air cleaned several times an hour.

The Amazon bullets say the filtration captures over 99.99 per cent and exceeds HEPA standards; Honeywell's product page says up to 99.97 per cent of the listed particles. Neither page we read prints CADR values or mentions AHAM verification for this model, so we do not supply either.

Placement guidance from Honeywell

Honeywell's support page asks for a firm, level location with the front of the unit facing away from the nearest wall or furniture. It gives no clearance distance in inches. On light carpet, it recommends a small mat underneath.

The support page also gives the installation order for the filters. The owner's manual could not be read in this session, so any further placement or safety limits are in the in-box manual; read it before choosing a spot.

Filter schedule and optional S filters

Honeywell recommends replacing the two R HEPA filters every 12 months and the A pre-filter every 3 months. Optional S filters are listed for this model, and the support page gives the pre-filter and S filters the same 3-month interval.

No filter is washable. The support page describes resetting the pre-filter light by pressing Filter Reset twice within a second, and the HEPA light by holding Filter Reset for two seconds, with the unit off. The support page also gives the filter installation order.

VOC sensor and automatic mode

The support page says the VOC sensor calibrates for about 30 seconds after the unit is switched on. In automatic mode the unit sets its cleaning level from the sensor reading, so a change of speed without your input is expected behaviour.

The Amazon listing mentions a Wi-Fi icon among the controls; the Honeywell pages we read do not describe Wi-Fi, so confirm before relying on app control. The listing also calls the pre-filter activated carbon, which Honeywell's page does not state.

Five-year limited warranty

Honeywell's product page lists a five-year limited warranty, and the Amazon listing shows the same. That is the only warranty fact both sources agree on, so treat five years as the headline and the manual as the source of the conditions.

The detailed warranty terms are in the owner's manual, which we could not read in this session, so exclusions and filter coverage are not summarised here. Keep your proof of purchase and read the in-box manual's warranty section when the unit arrives.

Check the current listing

Check this model on Amazon

Confirm the model, included parts and availability before ordering.

Primary sources

  1. Honeywell Plugged In product page for the Allergen Plus HEPA VOC air purifier HPA5200
  2. Honeywell InSight series air purifier support page

Primary sources checked .

Compare with

Keep comparing

Use the Right Size Air product index to compare other models, or read the full buying guide for category-level advice.